Our Alumni

JNT Alumni 1941 - 1960

Professor Sorab K. Ghandhi (1947) completed a M.S. / Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Illinois, U.S.A. Thereafter he was awarded a Graduate Fellowship by the University and obtained his Ph.D. degree in Electronics from the University of Illinois in 1951. He has co-authored two path-breaking books with Richard Shea as the Editor, titled Principles of Transistor Circuits (1953) and Transistor Circuit Engineering (1957). The book on Principles of Transistor Circuits was the first ever book on transistors and was translated into many languages all over the world. Dr. Ghandhi joined the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, New York, in 1963 as a Professor of Electrophysics. In 1975 he was presented with the Distinguished Teaching Award by his students at Rensselaer. In 1987 he was given the Distinguished Rensselaer Award. Dr. Ghandhi is presently a Professor Emeritus at Renssalaer.

Dr. O. B. Tandon (1948) completed doctoral studies in animal breeding, genetics and statistics at the Iowa State College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts, U.S.A. He served for four years with the Pan American Health Organisation (PAHO) and the Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO), United Nations in Latin America and Western Africa. He returned to India and worked with the Allahabad Agriculture Institute, Allahabad, the Indian Veterinary Research Institute (IVRI), Bareilly and the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), New Delhi. He worked closely with Professor M.S. Swaminathan and made key contributions to the Green Revolution of India. His work in gene modification was path breaking. His work in animal husbandry contributed to major dairy and poultry reforms in the country, for instance the introduction of hybrid Jersey and Holstein cows that was catalytic in India’s White Revolution.

The Dr. O.B. Tandon Gold Medal has been instituted in his memory at the Sri Venkateshwara College, University of Delhi and is awarded annually to the topper of the B.Sc. Zoology (Hons.) of the college.

Mr. Makarand V. Dehejia, a J.N. Tata Scholar of 1953, completed his Tripos in the Mechanical Sciences from the St. John’s College, University of Cambridge in 1955. After stints at various places, he joined the International Finance Corporation (IFC), from where he retired in December 1994 as Vice President in charge of Corporate Business Development. He is currently President and CEO of the Alliance for Sustainable Industry and Energy, LLC. He is a founding member of the International Society for Industrial Ecology at Yale University, New Haven, CT. and serves as the Book Review Editor for the Journal of Industrial Ecology.

Mr Jaivir Singh (1954) completed his Tripos in the Mechanical Sciences from the Pembroke College, University of Cambridge in 1957. He returned to India in 1959 and worked with Guest Keen Williams, where he became full time Director in 1987. He was then also on the Board of many companies includes Sankey Wheels, Invel Transmission, XLO-GWB Cardan Shafts, etc. Presently he is Director and Partner of Consindia Pvt. Ltd. which is a management consultancy organisation specialising in software exports.

Dr. Jayant Vishnu Narlikar(1957) completed Mathematical Tripos from the University of Cambridge, U.K. He received his degrees from the university in mathematics: B.A. (1960), Ph.D. (1963), M.A. (1964) and Sc.D. (1976), but later specialised in astronomy and astrophysics. He distinguished himself at Cambridge with the Smith’s Prize in 1962 and the Adam’s Prize in 1967. During this period he laid the foundations of his research work in cosmology and astrophysics in collaboration with his mentor Professor Fred Hoyle. In 1988, he was made Founder Director of the Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA, where he is now Emeritus Professor. In 2012 the Third World Academy of Sciences awarded him their prize for setting up a centre for excellence in science. He was awarded a Padma Bhushan in 1965, when he was 26. In 2004 he was awarded Padma Vibhushan. In 2011, the Government of Maharashtra gave him the highest civilian honour of the Maharashtra Bhushan.

Mr. Xerxes S. Desai (1958) completed B.A. degree in Modern Greats from the Oxford University, U.K. A life-long Tata employee, he started Titan Industries which revolutionised the watch industry in India. Mr. Desai is currently on the boards of the National Institute of Advanced Studies, the National Centre for the Performing Arts and the Titan Foundation for Education.

Dr. J.J. Irani(1958) completed M.Sc. degree in Metallurgy from the University of Sheffield, U.K and Ph.D degree in 1963. In 1968 he joined the Tata Iron and Steel Company Ltd. (TISCO) now Tata Steel, where he became Managing Director in 1992 and remained so until 2001. He continued to be a Director on the Board of Tata Steel and of Tata Sons Limited till 2nd June 2011.